Institute

The Finnish Cultural Institute in New York operates in the fields of contemporary art, design and architecture, creating dialogue between Finnish and American professionals and audiences.


Office in New York

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 

Kaarina Gould

gould@fciny.org

 

Project Manager

Ilari Laamanen

laamanen@fciny.org 

 

Residency Manager

Susanne Boswell

boswell@fciny.org

 

ADMINISTRATIVE MANAGER

Janna Jalkanen Greenhill

janna.jalkanen@fciny.org
 

Intern

Maija Grönqvist

intern@fciny.org

 


The Foundation for
the Finnish Cultural Institute
in New York, Helsinki

Administrative director

Eeva Talvitie 

talvitie@fciny.org

Kalliolinnantie 4
00140 Helsinki
Finland

Chairman

Esa Laaksonen (SAFA)           

Vice Chairman

Susan Elo (Ornamo)

Members

Selina Anttinen (SAFA)

Kaisu Koivisto (STS)

Päivi Meuronen (Ornamo)

Harri Pälviranta (STS) 

Sanna-Mari Jäntti

STS — Artists’ Association of Finland
Ornamo — Finnish Association of Designers
SAFA — Finnish Association of Architects

Advisory Board In Finland

Päivi Bergroth, Marja Kanervo, Hannu Kähönen, Antti Lassila, Rainer Mahlamäki, Maija Tanninen-Mattila

Advisory Board In the US

Richard A. Anderman, Richard Berglund, Kenneth Frampton, Edward P. Gallagher, Alanna Heiss, Karl Katz, Kati Korpijaakko, Jack Lenor Larsen, Peter MacKeith, Peter Reed, Tucker Viemeister, Tod Williams


Statement

The Finnish Cultural Institute in New York was established in 1990 as a residency center for Finnish artists, designers and architects. Deriving from that legacy, all the FCINY's functions aim towards setting people and ideas in motion, and creating international dialogue, as well as dialogue between visual art forms.

This happens through the residencies and other mobility programs, but also through organizing exhibitions and events, and actively communicating about progressive contents of the visual arts.

We aim to be a flexible agent in the cross-Atlantic Finnish-American cultural exchange, recognizing timely critical ideas and debates in the visual fields and producing thought-provoking contributions of our own. 

FCINY’s working method is collaboration with both local and overseas partners. By working together we can combine ideas, audiences, communications and resources.