Institute

The Finnish Cultural Institute in New York works across the fields of contemporary art, design and architecture, creating dialogue between Finnish and American professionals and audiences.


Office in New York

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 

Kaarina Gould

gould@fciny.org

 

Project Manager

Ilari Laamanen

laamanen@fciny.org 

ADMINISTRATIVE MANAGER

Isabelle Rosse

rosse@fciny.org

 

Interns

Sofia Simelius

sofia@fciny.org

Henriikka Uotila

henriikka@fciny.org


The Foundation for
the Finnish Cultural Institute
in New York, Helsinki

administrative director

Annu Webb

webb@fciny.org

Kalliolinnantie 4
00140 Helsinki
Finland

Chair

Esa Laaksonen (SAFA)  

vice Chair

Päivi Meuronen (Ornamo)       

Members

Selina Anttinen (SAFA)

Terike Haapoja (STS)

Elina Helenius (Ornamo)

Harri Pälviranta (STS) 

Jukka Savolainen

STS — Artists’ Association of Finland
Ornamo — Finnish Association of Designers
SAFA — Finnish Association of Architects

Advisory Board In Finland

Päivi Bergroth, Marja Kanervo, Hannu Kähönen, Antti Lassila, Rainer Mahlamäki, Maija Tanninen-Mattila

Advisory Board In the US

Richard A. Anderman, Richard Berglund, Kenneth Frampton, Edward P. Gallagher, Alanna Heiss, Karl Katz, Kati Korpijaakko, Jack Lenor Larsen, Peter MacKeith, Peter Reed, Tucker Viemeister, Tod Williams


Statement

The Finnish Cultural Institute in New York works across the fields of contemporary art, design and architecture, creating dialogue between Finnish and American professionals and audiences.

We aim to be a dynamic agent in the cross-Atlantic cultural exchange, recognizing timely critical ideas and debates in the visual fields and producing thought-provoking contributions of our own.

The Institute was established in 1990 as a residency center for Finnish artists, designers and architects. Deriving from that legacy, residency and mobility programs are still at the core of our mission. Furthermore we also organize exhibitions and events, and actively communicate about the visual arts.

The Finnish Cultural Institute in New York is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit private foundation.